Skip to Main Content


Below are regular UMBC faculty members who are pursuing cybersecurity-related research across both technical and non-technical disciplines.

Computer Science

Nilanjan Banerjee
Tim Finin
Richard Forno (Assistant Director, UCYBR)
Anupam Joshi (Chair, CSEE & UCYBR Director)
Samuel Lomonaco
Chris Marron
Charles Nicholas
Dmitri Perkins
Hamed Pirsiavash
Ben Shariati
Alan Sherman (Associate Director for CAE Programs, UCYBR)
Deepinder Sidhu
Yelena Yesha

Computer Engineering / Electrical Engineering

Riadul Islam
Naghmeh Karimi
Chintan Patel
Dhananjay Phatak
Ryan Robucci
Mohamed Younis

Information Systems

Zhiyuan Chen
Aryya Gangopadhyay
Vandana Janeja (Chair, IS)
George Karabatis
Helena Mentis
Karuna Pande Joshi
Sreedevi Sampath

Public Policy

Tim Brennan (emeritus)
Donald Norris (emeritus)


Linda Oliva


James Franson
Todd Pittman
Yanhua Shih

UMBC’s DOIT security and infrastructure team actively supports education & research initiatives across campus in addition to providing operational cybersecurity activities to protect UMBC’s information environment.

Jack Seuss, CIO
Mark Cather, CISO